Dr Lara Cawood Chiropractor
Home Your Spine FAQ Contact Us

Your Spine

Chiropractor - Your Spine

Let us look at the anatomy of your spine.

Your spine is a moveable structure that is made up of 24 individual vertebrae. Your spine begins just below your skull and ends between your hips. All 24 vertebrae are interconnected with muscles and ligaments which allow your spine to function as one dynamic unit.

Your spine is made up of 4 main areas:

Neck (Cervical) = 7 vertebrae
Mid-back (Thoracic) = 12 vertebrae
Low-back (Lumbar) = 5 vertebrae
Pelvis & Sacrum

Between each vertebra lies a disc made of cartilage, which acts as a shock absorber, to decrease friction between the vertebrae and to increase the movement of the spine. Exiting each vertebra is a pair of spinal nerves – and there are 31 pairs of spinal nerves in total. These run the length of the spine, forming an intricate network which supplies every cell, tissue and organ in your body.